ott apps
Drumrolls! You can now purchase subscriptions through our Fleek website!
Back to Blog

The Owners Behind the IPL Teams

May 29, 2024

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a globally renowned professional Twenty20 cricket league in India. Since its inception in 2008, it has revolutionized cricket with its blend of high-octane matches, star-studded lineups, and commercial success. The league's franchises, each representing different cities in India, are owned by a mix of business magnates, Bollywood celebrities, and sports organizations. This blog delves into the owners of the IPL teams, offering insights into their backgrounds, ownership structures, and contributions to their respective teams.

Overview of IPL Teams

The IPL comprises ten teams, each representing a major city or state in India. Here’s a quick overview of these teams:

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) – Chennai

Delhi Capitals (DC) – Delhi

Punjab Kings (PK) – Punjab

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) – Kolkata

Mumbai Indians (MI) – Mumbai

Rajasthan Royals (RR) – Rajasthan

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) – Bangalore

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) – Hyderabad

Gujarat Titans (GT) – Ahmedabad

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) – Lucknow

Each team has its unique identity, driven by the vision and passion of its owners.

Team Profiles and Their Owners

1. Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Team Owner(s): N. Srinivasan

Owner Business: Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited & India Cements

Ownership Structure: India Cements holds a major stake in the franchise, with N. Srinivasan being a prominent figure in the team's administration.

History and Achievements: CSK is one of the most successful franchises in IPL history, with multiple championships under their belt. They are known for their consistent performance and strong team spirit.

Interesting Facts: CSK was temporarily banned from the IPL for two years due to a spot-fixing scandal but made a triumphant return by winning the title in 2018.

2. Delhi Capitals (DC)

Team Owner(s): Parth Jindal

Owner Business: GMR Group and JSW Group

Ownership Structure: Initially owned solely by the GMR Group, JSW Group acquired a 50% stake in 2018.

History and Achievements: Delhi Capitals have seen a resurgence in recent years, reaching the finals in 2020. The team has a mix of young talent and experienced players.

Interesting Facts: The rebranding from Delhi Daredevils to Delhi Capitals in 2018 marked a new era for the franchise, aiming for a fresh start and improved performance.

3. Punjab Kings (PK)

Team Owner(s): Preity Zinta, Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman, and Karan Paul

Owner Business: –

Ownership Structure: The franchise is co-owned by these four stakeholders, with each having a significant share.

History and Achievements: Punjab Kings has had a roller-coaster journey in the IPL with inconsistent performances but boasts a passionate fan base.

Interesting Facts: Bollywood actress Preity Zinta is the face of the franchise and is actively involved in the team's operations and promotional activities.

4. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

Team Owner(s): Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla & Jay Mehta

Owner Business: Red Chillies Entertainment & Mehta Group

Ownership Structure: Red Chillies Entertainment holds a major stake, with Juhi Chawla and Jay Mehta owning a minority share.

History and Achievements: KKR has won the IPL title twice, in 2012 and 2014. They are known for their strong brand presence and loyal fan base.

Interesting Facts: KKR was one of the first franchises to focus on building a strong brand identity, leveraging Shah Rukh Khan's global popularity.

5. Mumbai Indians (MI)

Team Owner(s): Mukesh Ambani

Owner Business: Reliance Industries

Ownership Structure: Reliance Industries owns the franchise through its 100% subsidiary, IndiaWin Sports.

History and Achievements: Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in IPL history, with five titles to their name. They are known for their strategic acumen and strong team composition.

Interesting Facts: MI's success is often attributed to their excellent scouting network and investment in young talent.

6. Rajasthan Royals (RR)

Team Owner(s): Manoj Badale

Owner Business: Blenheim Chalcot

Ownership Structure: Manoj Badale's Emerging Media IPL Ltd. holds the majority stake, with other investors including Lachlan Murdoch.

History and Achievements: RR won the inaugural IPL season in 2008 under the leadership of Shane Warne. They are known for their focus on nurturing young talent.

Interesting Facts: The franchise was suspended for two years along with CSK due to the same spot-fixing scandal but has since returned to the league.

7. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

Team Owner(s): –

Owner Business: United Spirits Ltd.

Ownership Structure: United Spirits owns the franchise, with Diageo being the parent company.

History and Achievements: Despite having a star-studded lineup, RCB is yet to win an IPL title. They are known for their explosive batting lineup and loyal fan following.

Interesting Facts: RCB's home ground, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, is known for its high-scoring matches due to its small boundaries.

8. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

Team Owner(s): Kalanithi Maran

Owner Business: Sun TV Network

Ownership Structure: The franchise is owned by Sun TV Network, one of the largest media companies in India.

History and Achievements: SRH won the IPL title in 2016. They are known for their strong bowling attack and consistent performances.

Interesting Facts: SRH replaced the Deccan Chargers in 2012, maintaining the Hyderabad team's presence in the league.

9. Gujarat Titans (GT)

Team Owner(s): –

Owner Business: CVC Capital Partners

Ownership Structure: CVC Capital Partners, a global private equity firm, owns the franchise.

History and Achievements: GT is one of the two new franchises introduced in 2022 and has quickly made a mark with their competitive performances.

Interesting Facts: Despite being a new team, GT has managed to attract significant fan interest and strong player acquisitions.

10. Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

Team Owner(s): Dr. Sanjiv Goenka

Owner Business: RP Sanjiv Goenka Group

Ownership Structure: The RP Sanjiv Goenka Group, led by Dr. Sanjiv Goenka, owns the franchise.

History and Achievements: LSG is another new team introduced in 2022, aiming to establish itself in the competitive landscape of the IPL.

Interesting Facts: The franchise has invested heavily in acquiring top players and building a strong team foundation.

The Indian Premier League is not just about cricket; it’s a confluence of sports, entertainment, and business. The team owners, with their diverse backgrounds and visions, play a crucial role in shaping the destiny of their franchises. From Bollywood celebrities to business tycoons, each owner brings a unique flavor to the league, contributing to its global appeal and success.

Click Here to Buy Now!

Subscribe to our Newsletter!

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Related Articles
The Best of subscription news all in one place !
Subscribe below to stay updated!
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.